Need help?

Restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances (RoHS) directive



Restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances (RoHS) Directive (2011/65/EU)


1. This Directive shall, subject to paragraph 2, apply to EEE falling within the categories set out in Annex I.

2. Without prejudice to Article 4(3) and 4(4), Member States shall provide that EEE that was outside the scope of Directive 2002/95/EC, but which would not comply with this Directive, may nevertheless continue to be made available on the market until 22 July 2019.

3. This Directive shall apply without prejudice to the requirements of Union legislation on safety and health, and on chemicals, in particular Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006, as well as the requirements of specific Union waste management legislation.

4. This Directive does not apply to:

(a) equipment which is necessary for the protection of the essential interests of the security of Member States, including arms, munitions and war material intended for specifically military purposes;

(b) equipment designed to be sent into space;

(c) equipment which is specifically designed, and is to be installed, as part of another type of equipment that is excluded or does not fall within the scope of this Directive, which can fulfil its function only if it is part of that equipment, and which can be replaced only by the same specifically designed equipment;

(d) large-scale stationary industrial tools;

(e) large-scale fixed installations;

(f) means of transport for persons or goods, excluding electric two-wheel vehicles which are not type-approved;

(g) non-road mobile machinery made available exclusively for professional use;

(h) active implantable medical devices;

(i) photovoltaic panels intended to be used in a system that is designed, assembled and installed by professionals for permanent use at a defined location to produce energy from solar light for public, commercial, industrial and residential applications;

(j) equipment specifically designed solely for the purposes of research and development only made available on a business-to-business basis.


Categories of EEE covered by this Directive

1. Large household appliances.

2. Small household appliances.

3. IT and telecommunications equipment.

4. Consumer equipment.

5. Lighting equipment.

6. Electrical and electronic tools.

7. Toys, leisure and sports equipment.

8. Medical devices.

9. Monitoring and control instruments including industrial monitoring and control instruments.

10. Automatic dispensers.

11. Other EEE not covered by any of the categories above.


RoHS stands for Restriction of Hazardous Substances, and impacts the entire electronics industry and many electrical products as well. The original RoHS, also known as Directive 2002/95/EC, originated in the European Union in 2002 and restricts the use of six hazardous materials found in electrical and electronic products. All applicable products in the EU market since July 1, 2006 must pass RoHS compliance.

Directive 2011/65/EU was published in 2011 by the EU, which is known as RoHS-Recast or RoHS 2. RoHS 2 includes a CE-marking directive, with RoHS compliance now being required for CE marking of products. RoHS 2 also added Categories 8 and 9, and has additional compliance recordkeeping requirements.

Directive 2015/863 was published in 2015 by the EU, which is known as RoHS 3. RoHS 3 adds four additional restricted substances (phthalates) to the list of six.

  Harmonised standards

EN 50581:2012 Technical documentation for the assessment of electrical and electronic products with respect to the restriction of hazardous substances
EN 50581:2012
Technical documentation for the assessment of electrical and electronic products with respect to the...


  Stay up to date


Search for a standard


Already a member?


If you are interested in DO160 tests, you can give a try to our other free of charge software:
CE-Marking assistant, Version: 1.3.0